topleft >  Services >  Governance Technology > 

Legal Resources | Title 5 |    80047.4  

Chapter 1. Credentials Issued Under The Teacher Preparation and Licensing Law of 1970 Article 2. Credential Types, Authorizations, and Requirements Credentials, Certificates, and Authorizations to Provide Instructional Services to Students with Primary Disability: Autism   

arrow Previous bar Next arrow

(a) Holders of the listed credentials, certificates, and authorizations are authorized to teach students with disabilities in which the primary disability is "autism" as defined in subsection 300.8(c)(1) (autistic) of Title 34 Code of Federal Regulations, Subpart A.

(1) Education Specialist Instruction Credential: Moderate/Severe Disabilities

(2) Clinical or Rehabilitative Services Credential in Language, Speech and Hearing, with Special Class Authorization

(3) Special Education Specialist Instruction Credential for the Severely Handicapped

(4) Special Education Specialist Instruction Credential for the Communication Handicapped provided the following conditions have been met:

(A) The holder has taught full-time for at least one year prior to September 1, 1991 in a special day class in which the primary disability was autism, and has received a favorable evaluation or recommendation to teach a special day class with the primary disability of autism by the local employing agency.

(B) An individual who has been assigned on the basis of (a)(4)(A) prior to July 1, 2010, shall be authorized to continue in such assignment. Effective July 1, 2010, no new individuals shall qualify under the provisions of (a)(4)(A).

(5) Education Specialist Instruction Credential, Certificate, and Added Authorization: Early Childhood Special Education

(6) Education Specialist Instruction Credential: Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, Mild/Moderate Disabilities, Physical and Health Impairments, and Visual Impairments if the individual has completed the autism content found in section 80048.6(b)(8)

(7) Autism Spectrum Disorders Added Authorization in Special Education

(8) Holders of the Education Specialist Instruction Credential: Language and Academic Development are authorized to teach students who fall within the disability categories in this section with academic communication and language needs in the following areas: language development, school readiness and social skills, and literacy development addressing competencies across the curriculum in listening, speaking, reading, writing, and academic areas

Authority cited:

Education Code 44225


Education Code 44265

Education Code 44265.3

Education Code 44268

Education Code 44343

34 C.F.R. 300.8(c)(1)

20 USC 1401(3), (14), (15), (16), (29) and (30).

(Amended by Register 2011, No. 31.)